The ‘84 Tigers today

It’s been 20 years since the Tigers won 104 games and the ’84 World Series, and I thought it would be cool to do one of those “Where are they now” articles on the team. It wasn’t long, though, before I discovered this article from the Detroit Free Press, doing just that. It turns out […]

THT on the radio

For anyone who’s interested, I’m going to be on the Baseball Breakfast show on MLB Radio this morning, at 10:30 AM Eastern (9:30 Central, 8:30 Mountain, 7:30 Pacific, 3:30 PM in London, 6:30 PM in Moscow, 11:30 PM in Tokyo…). The show actually starts at 10 Eastern, and ex-players Billy Sample and Jim Leyritz are […]

Top 5 revisited

It’s been almost a month since I first talked about my top 5 little-known minor leaguers. Here’s an update on their current (minor-league) stats: AVG OBP SLG H Stanley .239 .330 .351 R Castro .233 .321 .362 J Knott .324 .393 .632 J Willingham .268 .432 .562 B Jacobsen .329 .413 .691 Castro is on […]

Jays call up Adam Peterson

I can’t believe I forgot to mention this. On Friday, Toronto called up minor league closer Adam Peterson, a Wichita State alum. Peterson was a starter in his Shocker days, but was converted to the bullpen with the Jays organization. Peterson did alright in his first couple pro seasons, but he’s really broken through this […]

Grimsley-for-Bautista

Yesterday, Royals GM Allard Baird traded grab-bag reliever Jason Grimsley to the Orioles for Denny Bautista, a very solid righty pitching prospect. This looks like a steal for the Royals. I think Rany Jazayerli sums it up best over at Rob and Rany: “What Allard has done here is exactly what Dave Littlefield didn’t – […]

Trading places

Just as the Padres demoted one of my favorite players, Jon Knott, the A’s called up another one of my guys, infielder Ramon Castro. In Castro’s first major-league at-bat, he pinch hit for Bobby Crosby in the 9th inning. Castro reached base on an error by Angels 3B Alfredo Amegaza, and got an RBI when […]

Petit home/road splits

Below, Dave wondered about Yusmerio Petit’s home/road splits at Capital City. Well, I looked around and found them. I also noticed that Petit pitched a gem on Sunday, 5.2 innings with just one hit and eleven strikeouts. He’s now 9-1, with a 2.10 ERA and a 112-21 K-BB in 77 innings this year. At home, […]

Introducing Yusmerio Petit

Last week, I got an email from a reader named Josh Orenstein telling me about a minor leaguer I’d never heard of — Yusmerio Petit. My guess is not many of you have heard of Petit either. Well, the guy is good. Petit is a 19-year-old Venezuelan-born RHP in the Mets system. At Single-A Capital […]

Well, so much for that

After barely giving him a chance (14 AB), the Padres demoted Jon Knott to AAA to make room for reliever Ricky Stone. This is just a crap move. Stone has been a decent enough pitcher in his career, but he’s got a 5.68 ERA this year and is basically just a run-of-the-mill middle reliever. Meanwhile, […]

Rivalry reversal

The Red Sox-Yankees rivalry is perhaps the most famous in all of baseball, but it’s been pretty one-sided. On the other hand, the Dodgers-Giants rivalry has been roughly even, and one could argue (as I would) that it’s the greater rivalry. I’m a fan of both the Dodgers and Red Sox, and I grew up […]

Nice pickup for LA

Earlier this week, the Yankees sent 3B Brian Myrow to the Dodgers to complete last month’s trade for Tanyon Sturtze. This is a great pickup for LA. Sturtze is a scrap-heap starter, but Myrow is a very underrated talent. His name briefly came up over the winter as a candidate for the Yankee third base […]

Conflicts of interest

A Dodgers-Red Sox game is a dream of mine. But not in the regular season. The only time I ever want those two teams to meet is in October. Unfortunately for me, they met today, and David Ortiz hit a walk-off single to give the Red Sox the win, 2-1. It was a really good […]

Knott gets a start

Actually, Jon Knott got his first major-league start on Sunday in a Padres win over Milwaukee, but I was distracted by the two Wichita State losses that day (and then by the draft stuff earlier this week). Knott struck out swinging in the 2nd inning, grounded to third in the 4th, and drew a walk […]

0-5

It looks like that might be my “record” today. 0-5. The Dodgers already lost and the Yankees won, which puts me at 0-2. The Red Sox are getting shut out 4-0 in the 6th inning (there’s a rain delay), and to make matters worse, the team beating them is the Padres (who are battling the […]