Friday, February 25, 2011
Question of the Every Other Day or So: CheatingPosted by Mat Kovach
With pitchers slightly ahead of hitters in getting hurt this season, I have to admit that an ethical question has been in my head since the Hall of Fame voting. Let’s say (this is hypothetical and not an accusation against anybody) one of the pitchers put down for the count this season did the following:
- Checked around for some "enhancement" rehab therapy that would be outside the rules of the game.
- Spent quite a bit of time researching this new therapy and figuring out a way to mix it in with his normal rehab.
- Weighed the pros and cons, including the risk of serving a suspension while on the DL.
- Decided to not use this special enhancement rehab therapy.
- The week after he came back from rehab, the story broke and he admitted that he looked into it. Teary eyed, he explained that he just wanted to get back on the field to help his team as quickly as possible, so he explored every avenue available to him. In the end, he just couldn’t break the rules
The question of the day is: Did he cheat?
Indians fan, member of the Duane Kuiper Fan Club, Spitball Researcher, Contact me on twitter, @siddfinch, via email or avian carrier